banner-50
lefthomeaboutpastarchiveright

‘Naxalbari 50’

In Search of ‘Maoist Revolution’

Timir Basu

[Integration with the peasantry. Hence first Jhargram, and then Haroah, Sandeshkhali, Minekhan. Two districts at two ends of West Bengal and two different experiences.]

It is not enough to call that period a turbulent one; it was a period of tremendous restlessness. After entering the Presidency College, I quite naturally got involved in the student movement. I got attached with the left student movement, although in the campuses of the College and the University of Calcutta, the rightists were holding sway. When we were endeavouring to build up a leftist student organisation in the Presidency College, 'Naxalbari' was yet to happen. Yet we earned the stigma of ultra-left, because we had become vocal against the bureaucratic central leadership.

In the beginning I, like many others, had only a limited connception about revolution, and although I studied much about the Russian, the Chinese and the Cuban Revolutions, my knowledge of Marxism was extremely poor. 'Naxalbari' provided the opportunity for fresh thinking. At that time, abundant reading materials, particularly Chinese books, on Marxism and revolution were available. The 'Beijing Review' (the Peking Review) and "Tricontinental" published from Cuba were also coming. Earlier, we had almost no access to Mao Zedong's writings. Although the writings of Che Guavara and Fidel Castro thrilled us, the majority of students and youths were prone to think that revolution in this country would arrive along the Chinese path. I was so influenced by the theory of agrarian revolution and encircling cities from villages that just after coming out of the university, I decided to go back to the village and actively participate in the revolution. As I went to the countryside, I realised to the bones how difficult it was to reconcile theory with practice. It was necessary to get integrated with the common rural masses, particular