banner
lefthomeaboutpastarchiveright

Nationalism – Narrow and Wide

Bhaskar Majumder

At the beginning let me confess that I am not an expert on the idea called nationalism as common people are. Common people live their life without understanding many such concepts. But they pay the price when they are made the victims in the processes by being defined or identified as somebody which they themselves could not discover in their lifetime. These days we are defined as nationalists and anti-nationals. So we need to understand who defines us or how are we defined. The recent public discourse on this baffled me really – how I am being identified as a nationalist or an anti-national? While being engaged with toiling people in the Heartland soiling hands everywhere to earn livelihood, I used to ask them, ‘What is Azadi for you’? They instantaneously replied, ‘Roti, Roji’. One person asked me, ‘Saab, Mujhe ek Deshbhakti ka card banwana hai’. I told him, ‘Tumhara BPL card yaa Voter’s Identity card nehi hai?’ He was surprised, ‘Uus sei chaelga?’ I told, ‘Hain’. However, I told him, ‘also, you may try to get one MNREGA card, if you do not have that’. I did not ask him, where would he keep the cards in safety – did he have a safe non-dilapidated house and a safe Almirah in his house?

Some people also have Passport and readily available Visa, otherwise how could at will they cross the ocean allegedly cheating the banking system, playing (looting) with the hard-earned money of the people. Some such enterprising people bargain vis-à-vis the State of India in fixing the date when they will have time to accept the date as fixed by the ED, GoI for conversations. Are these people, who ‘Quit India’, nationalists?